Filling the Heart with Calories

This week’s Carrot Ranch prompt is to show a personality trait informed by the zodiac.  I hadn’t given Cecilia (or any of my characters, actually) birthdates, so I scanned a list of zodiac signs to find one that matched Cecilia’s personality.  I very quickly realized that she is a Cancer.  Here’s what it says about Cancer:

CancerThe Crab
June 21 – July 22
Cancerians love home-life, family and domestic settings. They are traditionalists, and enjoy operating on a fundamental level. They love history, and are fascinated with the beginnings of things (heraldry, ancestry, etc.). The moon is their ruler, so they can be a bit of a contradiction and sometimes moody. However, they are conservative, so they’ll be apt to hide their moods from others altogether. They have a reputation for being fickle, but they’ll tell you that isn’t true, and it’s not. Cancerians make loyal, sympathetic friends. However Cancerians need alone time, and when they retreat, let them do so on their terms.

 


Baking filled in the hole in Cecilia’s life where family was missing. It comforted her when she was lonely; it was the warm hug she fed herself every morning; it reached out to embrace friends when words would not suffice. The smell of the bread she baked every full moon filled her empty house and chased away memories. Kneading sweet buns, she fought those forces that had left only ghosts to share the house. The crescendo of smell of the chocolate chip cookies that she baked for the neighbors muted her need for grandchildren. Yes, baking nourished Cecilia’s soul.

One thought on “Filling the Heart with Calories

  1. I’m not a Cancer, but I can so relate to Celia! In the summer I grill and the winter I bake. All my kids are gone, my husband works 20 days a month 400 miles away. The smells make my house feel occupied. Celia is a relatable character and I’m wondering if you’ll find things in her sign that will help you move her story along too–the tensions or contradictions. To me, I find the “signs” to be like hints that help create a fuller character. Great flash and thanks for really digging into the heart of the prompt!

    Like

Leave a Reply

