Sapphire

The October air was warm and humid, a storm was brewing in the atmosphere. I eagerly took my seat, ready to relax with two thousand of my closest friends.

An auburn-haired policeman tapped me on the shoulder and asked me to leave. My cheeks flared. I had been looking forward to this concert for weeks. “You are a security threat, and I cannot allow you to remain at the concert,” she said in a low voice. “The singer has brown eyes, as does most of the audience.”

Once again, my sapphire eyes kept me from a great life experience.


My story is in homage to the citizens who were denied access to the St. Louis County Council meeting tonight.  The people ejected from the meeting were united in their viewpoint, and they were locked out of the building.  Rumor is that people with an opposing viewpoint spoke directly with the Council members after the meeting.

I am also submitting this to the Carrot Ranch writing prompt for October 1, 2014, which is to write of something “worse than death.” Because missing a single concert may seem trivial, but a routine pattern of this denies blue-eyed people the right to live a full life.

 

2 thoughts on “Sapphire

Leave a Reply

