Distraction

It is Thanksgiving evening, the boys are asleep, but the house is far from quiet.  I hear the whir of the washing machine, and running water as my husband washes dishes upstairs.  The stairs creaking.  As I try to keep focus on my work, the noises quiet, then grow loud to distract me again.

I hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving, and got your fill of turkey and pumpkin pie, as well as enjoying family and friends.

I have been busy these last few weeks, and writing has been the last thing on my mind.  I am aching to get back to it.  I returned to this week’s Carrot Ranch 99-word prompt, which was to put together two things that don’t go together.  The example piece was apples and guns.  I started with ladybug and computer.  The ladybug turned into a beetle, and this is what I ended up with:

The creature flies around the room, silent, stealthy.  She watches its tiny black wings out of the corner of her eye, before it disappears and she turns back to her monitor.  Still, she can feel it behind her, watching her, judging.

“You’ll never be good enough,” she hears it whisper.

It flits into view again.  She closes her eyes, and the beetle disappears, along with her manuscript. All that is left is the critical voice of the beetle.

She opens her eyes to see the beetle sitting on her computer.  Quickly, she picks up a shoe and smashes it.

In other news, I have had a poem published!  It is in When Women Waken, an online journal, and called A Child Delights in Words.

7 thoughts on “Distraction

  1. Yes–smash that beetle! I love how two seemingly different objects can thread together a meaningful story. Thank you for taking time to meet the challenge! I hope Thanksgiving pumpkin pies linger long in your memory and serve to remind you that if you can grow a pumpkin and make it into a pie, you can grow a story and write a book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on the poem. Such a wonderful feeling to be published. I feel so sad for that poor bug – smashed. Though I can understand you have to smash that voice over the shoulder saying “you’ll never be good enough.” A great end for the voice , but still feel sorry for the bug. Great flash.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

