Impossible

“Don’t say it’s impossible,” Cecilia said.

camptrip.com

He stared intently into the fire.  It felt like hours ago that they had roasted marshmallows over this same campfire.  Now their hands were idle, fidgeting, looking to occupy themselves. Cecilia longed to go to him and wipe the marshmallow drippings off his lips. Instead, she focused on peeling the bark off a twig.

“I can’t possibly take you with me.  It is not a place to be a tourist.”  She could barely hear him over the silence.

Cecilia walked resolutely to the tent.  It was time she got used to being alone.

One thought on “Impossible

  1. Reblogged this on Season of Motherhood and commented:

    I have been putting a lot of flash fiction on my other blog, Fiction as Life. Here is a sample of what I have put up there. I’ve been having fun with Flash Fiction, short fiction pieces as complex as a poem. I hope you enjoy them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

