New Year’s Resolutions

The minute the wrapping paper hit the recycling, planning for next year began.  I love planning and New Year’s Resolutions, although implementation is sometimes a challenge. But for now, 2015 shines brightly before me, a new year of possibilities.

This week’s Carrot Ranch challenge (posted even before Christmas! Kudos to Charli for her ability to plan in the middle of Christmas Eve) is to think ahead.  Specifically,

December 24, 2014 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story that includes a vision. You can write your own personal vision and “fictionalize” it in the sense that you write it as if it already has come to pass or is unfolding right now. Or you can write the vision of a character. Dream big. dream bold.

Like me, my characters are planning for the new year.  Listen in as they discuss it:

Cecilia wiped her hands on her apron and answered the phone.

“Hi, how are things?” Cecilia asked.

“They’re falling apart here. I’m supposed to babysit for Chelsea and my house is already a mess. And she’s a messy kid. I have to get this house cleaned once and for all. That is gonna be my New Year’s Resolution.”

“Do you need help?”  Cecilia and Gloria were polar opposites with organization.

Gloria sighed.  “Would you mind?”

“Be there in fifteen minutes.”  The cookie dough would keep in the fridge.

“By the way, what’s your New Year’s Resolution?”

“To lose weight.”

9 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Your characters really resonate with me! I’m a true home-body and I love to bake and cook. My friend loves to get out and doesn’t eat gluten or sugar so we develop interesting truces in our friendship. 🙂
    Like you, I get excited for the clean-slate feel of the new year with all its possibilities. I like the forward momentum. Thanks for joining in and I’m glad this helped you get an insight into your characters. Terrific flash!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Charli! I love the kitchen too. My husband got me a stand mixer for Christmas so I don’t think losing weight is anywhere in the near future. Your differences with your friend must make for an interesting dynamic! A lot of give and take, I imagine.
      I’m so glad my characters resonated with you. I wasn’t sure if this piece would work (and it was hard to edit into 99 words!) so I’m glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oooh, nice gift! I’ve embraced my foodie side and try to encourage my inner walker! My friend has me eating more apples 🙂 I resist thinking, hmm, brown sugar, cinnamon, crumble crust and whipped cream would go well with these. You did a great job of getting it to 99 words and it certainly works!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely Sarah. It’s great to see the collaborative spirit holding through to the New Year. Nice to see that opposites attract in fiction as in life. They can support each other where they need it! The 99 words can be a tough master but you have met the task superbly! Best wishes for the possibilities in store for you in 2015! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

