Hundred Year Cookbook

Moter's Old Cookbook -- Franz Walther
Moter’s Old Cookbook — Franz Walther

The cookbook cover was frayed and worn, but the binding had stayed intact over the years. The effort it took to read Grandmother’s script was well worth it as she felt the scratchy wool of Grandmother’s sweater and smelled the combination of baked chicken and nutmeg, the way this kitchen had smelled when she was a child. Add cinnamon! Grandmother had written in this sweet roll recipe. Cecilia remembered feasting on these rolls every Saturday of her childhood.

With the cookbook invoking so many fond memories, it was no wonder she loved to bake.


This post was written for Charli Mills’ prompt on Carrot Ranch for her February 18 Flash Fiction Challenge. The challenge is:

In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story about feeling good. Is it a relationship? A new dawn, a new day? A reprieve or a relief from earlier tension? Does it come from giving or receiving a gift? Is it the result of compassion? If you hear wedding bells, add them to the story.

I have to say, I love this prompt! You may see more “feel good” stories from me over this next week.

12 thoughts on “Hundred Year Cookbook

  1. Add cinnamon! That’s one of my favourite spices. I can almost smell and taste it while reading. Your story reminds me of my mum’s handwritten cookbook. My sister is a wonderful cook. My mum copied by hand all the recipes in her book for my sister. Now that my mum has passed, my sister has the original as well as her copy. That must make the recipes and her cooking doubly good! 🙂

    Like

    1. Cinnamon is one of my favorites too. That’s great to have the copied recipes! My cookbooks tend to get dirty from kitchen spills, so I would have a copy to keep clean and one that could get dirty. What a treasure, to have the recipes in your mum’s handwriting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a beautifully tactile flash Susan and I’m beyond jealous of something so perfect as a family cookbook- baked chicken and nutmeg – if you decipher the recipe I insist you post it and not squirrel it away – it would be a crime against humanity!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

