If we were having coffee and cherry pie …

Cecilia saw that I did a Weekend Coffee Share post this week, and she wanted to share on here too. So here is Cecilia’s Weekend Coffee Share:coffee2

If we were having coffee, I would make cherry pie for you as well. Cherry pie just seems fitting, somehow, for an evening cup of coffee. I canned the cherries myself, last summer. The cherry tree in the backyard is profuse in its offerings, so I always stain my hands red in the summer while I can them. I hope you like the pie.

Speaking of the cherry tree, the buds are just beginning to come out. I have a feeling it will be spectacular this year. (Well, it is spectacular every year, so why should this year be any different?)

Cherry pie was John’s favorite dessert. Even now, twenty-five years later, I still miss him. Although I have gotten rid of most of his things, I kept his favorite shirt–a Pink Floyd t-shirt from a concert he went to in the 80’s. Every so often, I’ll take that shirt out, just to remember him in it. Of course, he wouldn’t look like that now. He’d have grey hair and wrinkles, like I have grown. Instead, his image is stuck in time, a man now twenty years younger than I am.

But you’re not here to hear me reminisce, are you? I’m a little lonely this week. My daughter, Kate, is away on a business trip. I wish she wouldn’t travel so much; I hardly get to see her! She flies off at such odd times, too. She will get a call in the middle of the night and catch the first flight out to wherever. And she is far too busy with work to ever settle down. I wish I had her energy.

Next week I’m looking forward to meeting with Susan, a new friend from my support group. She’s young–younger than Kate, even–and just learning to grieve. I hope that friendship will make her journey a little easier to bear than mine was.

I hope you have a great week! Be sure to visit other Weekend Coffee Share posts on the linky. If you want, you can also look at my author, Sarah’s, Coffee Post for the week. She had a fairly rough week. Until next time!

Cecilia

2 thoughts on “If we were having coffee and cherry pie …

Leave a Reply

