The Assignment

A stranger dropped a coin into my cup. I thanked him profusely as curses rang in my head. How much longer would I have to sit on this cobblestoned earth?

I sat. I breathed. I waited. I watched.

Three police officers walked by talking about lunch. They ignored me as my stomach rumbled.

I sat. I breathed. I waited. I watched.

The police commissioner walked by, alone. He covertly dropped a piece of paper into my cup. I watched as he walked away, his black coat blowing in the wind. I had not expected my assignment to come from a high officer. Was this my ticket to a higher profile position?

I sat. I breathed. I waited. I watched.

Slowly, the plaza cleared. It was nearly empty by the time the bell tolled One, save for bread crumbs and pigeons. I looked in my cup. Other than the paper, there were a few coins. Not enough for a sandwich today. My stomach rumbled.

I picked up my pillow and walked back to my room, ready for my next assignment. This paper would tell me where to go, how to get there, what to find. “I’m ready,” I whispered.

I opened the paper.

“Get a job, you lazy bum.”


This post was written in response to this week’s Flash! Friday prompt.

The Beggar. CC2.0 photo by Foto_Michel.

 

3 thoughts on “The Assignment

Leave a Reply

