First Interview

Today’s Flash!Friday prompt requires a lawyer as a central character. Sam is a pilot during World War II. Don’t take this as legal advice unless you live in the 1940’s 🙂


Sam walks into the lawyer’s office wearing his best suit. He looks at the diplomas and awards on the wall before settling himself into a leather chair. He looks at Mr. Grey across the walnut desk.

“Rose wants a divorce.”
“Does she have grounds?”
“Yes, unfortunately.”
“What do you want?”
“I want my life back. I don’t want to bust my back as a pilot and come home to her hawking at me.”
“So you want the divorce too?”
“I guess.”
“Do you have kids?”
“Three boys. Johnny is in high school and makes straight A’s—“
“I’m glad you’re proud of your kids. You’ll probably get custody of them. Are you prepared to pay alimony?”
“A little, although I don’t think she needs it. She works on the assembly line.”
“You will have to pay alimony, that’s state law.”
“But she’ll end up with more money than me, taking my money!”
“I’m sorry, but I can’t change the law. Do you want to fight the divorce?”

 

“no”
“Well, this shouldn’t be too much of a problem. As long as you don’t do anything stupid …”


1943 crash landing on the USS Enterprise. PD photo by the US Department of Defense.

1943 crash landing on the USS Enterprise. PD photo by the US Department of Defense

One thought on “First Interview

Leave a Reply

