Rescue Dog

This week’s Carrot Ranch Prompt brings together two of Charli’s loves: her childhood friend, who suffers terminal cancer, and her dog, who was attacked by a grizzly bear.

Grizzly is the word I would use to describe Charli’s life right now.  When we know people only online, it is easy to read their life like a novel, but this is real. This is pain. The only happy ending here is that they could get the dog into (and through) surgery.

Another friend in a grizzly situation is my neighbor, who had to put her dog down to sleep today. This dog has been such a close companion for her. Her loss is so profound that I feel a hole. I wrote this for her, and I hope she takes some comfort from it.

June 10, 2015 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story about an animal rescue. It can be a typical dog or cat rescue from the pound, or helping a critter less fortunate. Go where the prompt leads you.


Rescue Dog

The mutt came into my life as a puppy. Was my son’s dog, really, but he and his sister wormed their way into my heart.

He was my comforter, my best friend in the days following my son’s death. He was my shoulder to cry on, the goof to make me smile. His was the life that held mine up.

Saying goodbye broke my heart in two pieces. I lost my son again when I lost that dog.

Friends lift me up now, but for how long? They are not the constant companion of one who is always underfoot.

12 thoughts on “Rescue Dog

  1. Kate says that you described so well out reminds her of her own Murphy whom she lost as the cancer came on. She understands and we both feel for you and thought name. Beautifully and tenderly written. Your compassion shoes through your entire blog post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah I feel for your neighbour. Our rescue dog had to be put to sleep a week ago and I understand the sense of loss that your friend is feeling only for her she is losing her son again. So sad. She doesn’t know me but give her a big hug from Australia. It was a beautiful flash Sarah.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a stupid softie so stories of animals just get to me. Your flash is painful to read. It’s like the Hemmingway quote ‘writing is easy; I just sit at my desk and bleed’ I think you bled that 99 words Sarah.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ouch. I’ve been thinking a lot about (and blogging about) online friendships. It’s not just a story, you’re right. It’s real. I feel Charli’s pain so much. Also, now, I feel for you and your neighbor through her “story” which is her life. One I feel I sort of know now. I’ve always said that some people have animals, some have pets, and some have furry family members. It can be a devastating loss. I’m sorry. Sending good vibes your way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

